Search icon
Regional Writing Centre Logo

The Shortlisted Winners of the National Essay-Writing Competition Have Been Announced!

Essay-Writing Competition Poster

It's been a long wait, but the RWC is proud to announce the shortlist of winning candidates for the National Secondary-School Essay-Writing Competition! 

In the Transition Year category, we have the following:

  • Caoimhe McCarthy, St. Alysius, Carrigtwohill, Co. Cork.
  • Fiona Hourigan, St. Mary's High School, Midleton, Co. Cork.
  • Lenora Murphy, St. Cuan's College, Co. Galway.

In the Fifth Year category, we have the following:

  • Isabel Azu, Kishoge Community College, Lucan, Co. Dublin.
  • Clara Buchwald, Coláiste Chiaráin, Athlone, Co. Roscommon.
  • Ava Moore, St. Catherine's Vocational School, Killybegs, Co. Donegal.

As you may have noticed, this shortlist is very unusual - for the first time in the competition's history, all the winners are girls! Well done, ladies! 

The overall winners and runners-up in both categories will be announced on the 16th of May at the awards ceremony. The winners will be awarded Android tablets, and the runners-up will each receive a €100 One4All voucher. See you soon!