Search icon
Regional Writing Centre Logo

National Secondary School Essay-writing Competiton Shortlist


On behalf of everyone at the Regional Writing Centre in the University of Limerick, We are delighted to announce the shortlist for this year's National Essay-Writing Competition for Secondary Schools. As a shortlisted winner, the student will be awarded either an iPad 2 Air, awarded to the overall winner in the category, or a One-for-All voucher with a €150 value, awarded to the two runners up.

The studens will be honoured at a ceremony in the Regional Writing Centre on April 26th next . The UL President, Professor Don Barry, will greet the students, their families and school officials and will announce the overall winner of each year group. 

Congratulations to all the students shortlisted for this year's competition. We look forward to meeting you and your family on the 26th!

Transition Year Shortlist:
Tara Gilsenan, Coláiste Oiriall, Co. Monaghan.
Aoife Deignan, St. Nathy's College, Co. Roscommon.
Muireann Tuffrey, Mean Scoil Nua an Leith Triuigh, Co.Kerry.

Fifth Year Shortlist:
Alan McLoughlin, St. Mary's CBS, Co. Kerry.
Róisín Howard, Laurel Hill Coláiste, Limerick.
Isabelle Tierney, Mount Anville Secondary School, Co. Dublin.

Sixth Year Shortlist:
Joseph Chaplin, Ardscoil Rís, Limerick.
Michael Smollen, Virginia College, Co. Cavan.
Gareth Jones, St. Peter's College, Co. Wexford.