Search icon
Regional Writing Centre Logo

National Secondary School Essay-Writing Competition Awards Ceremony


(From left to right: Fiona Hourigan, tY runner-up; Clara Buchwald, Fifth Year runner-up; Lenora Murphy, TY runner-up; Dr Desmond Fitzgerald, President of UL; Isabel Azu, Fifth Year overall winner; Caoimhe MacCarthy, TY overall winner; and Ava Moore, Fifth Year runner-up.)

Yesterday, on Thursday the 16th of May 2019, the winners of the National Secondary School Essay-Writing Competition were honoured at a ceremony in C1-061. The girls were awarded their certificates and prizes by Dr Desmond Fitzgerald, the Presidnet of UL. Then, they and their friends, teachers, and parents had the opportunity to join the RWC and CTL staff at a reception in C1-062.

It was lovely to see the opinion-formers of tomorrow being fĂȘted for their achievements at the ceremony. The RWC staff also enjoyed seeing the winners - who came from places as far away as Donegal and Dublin - mingling and striking up new friendships at the reception. There were also surprises to be had - one of the girls, Clara Buchwald, is an exchange student from Germany, while Caoimhe MacCarthy and Fiona Hourigan already knew each other well before they were shortlisted!

We here at the RWC have high hopes for these young ladies, and wish them luck on their journeys onward.