Search icon

SSPC Announced as Pharma Research Centre Of The Year and Research & Development Achievement Award Winner


Professor Kieran Hodnett accepting the Pharma Research Centre of the year Award

[Professor Kieran Hodnett accepting the Pharma Research Centre of the Year Award from SSPC Colleagues]
The SSPC, a Science Foundation Ireland (SFI) and industry funded research centre hosted at the MSSI, University of Limerick, were announced as Pharma Research Centre of the Year and Research & Development Achievement Award winner, at the Pharma Industry Awards 2015. The Awards acknowledge and celebrate the most original and innovative individuals, research centres and companies in the Irish Pharma sector. Speaking at the event Professor Kieran Hodnett, SSPC Scientific Director said: “The SSPC is delighted to win these two prestigious awards, which recognise the cutting-edge research and development achievements of the SSPC’s world-leading researchers and globally leading industry partners. SSPC’s research innovations and developments are leading the way for next generation medicine manufacture and it is truly a great honour to be acknowledged for these achievements by the Irish Pharma sector”.

Individual SSPC industry and research partners were also honoured at the Awards. The Biopharma Industry Technical Group won the Partnership Alliance of the Year Award. The Biopharma Industry Technical Group is a unique collaboration between SSPC, NIBRT and the biopharma industry represented by MSD, Allergan, Pfizer, Janssen Biologics, Amgen, Lilly, BioMarin, Sanofi Genzyme, Regeneron. Under this group, the SSPC are currently leading a SFI and industry funded advanced biopharmaceutical technologies research collaborative project, which focuses on developing innovative single use bioprocessing solutions and examining the effects of extractable and leachable agents on product quality.

In addition, SSPC research partner, NIBRT, won two awards - Pharma Leader of the Year and the Pharma Education & Training Award. SSPC industry partner, MSD won a total of five awards - Pharma Industry Company of the Year; Pharma Company of the Year; Biopharma Company of the Year; Innovation of the Year; Sustainability Initiative of the Year. SSPC industry partner Pfizer won the Operational Excellence Award and Genzyme - a Sanofi Company won the Biotech Company of the Year and the Health & Safety Award.

The SSPC would like to congratulate all winners and finalists.