fbpx MSSI Research Awards Day 2015 | University of Limerick arrow
Search icon

MSSI Research Awards Day 2015


Pai Liu, Tadhg Kennedy and Shalini SinghMSSI hosted its annual research day on 25 June 2015 at the Castletroy Park Hotel, Limerick which was attended by approximately 105 delegates. This year's event included a Thesis-in-three competition where 22 MSSI PhD students each presented their research in three minutes in three slides.

In addition to the research talks on the MSSI themes, there were also presentations from the Incoming Bernal Chair; Professor Jacques Huyghe, as well as a key note industry speaker, Elizabeth Conway, Engineering Manager, Analog Devices.

During the event, a number of awards were presented by Professor Noel O'Dowd, Director MSSI. The MSSI research award for most Web of Science journal papers published in 2014 with an impact factor greater than 1.5 went to Professor Åke Rasmuson whose award was presented to him in absentia. Åke published 15 Web of Science papers with an impact factor greater than 1.5.

The MSSI award for Best Postgraduate Web of Science Journal Publication in 2014 went to Tadhg Kennedy for his paper “High-Performance Germanium Nanowire-Based Lithium-Ion Battery Anodes Extending Over 1,000 Cycles Through in Situ Formation of a Continuous Porous Network” published in the ACS journal Nano Letterswith co-authors Kevin M. Ryan, Emma Mullane, Hugh Geaney, Michal Osiak and Colm O’Dwyer http://pubs.acs.org/doi/abs/10.1021/nl403979s.

The MSSI award for Best Undergraduate Final Year Project in the academic year 2014-15 went to Cian Dillon a student in the Department of Mechanical, Aeronautical and Biomedical Engineering. His project supervisors were Dr David Tanner (DMT) and Professor Michael Pomeroy (CEMS). The project title is “The Vibrational Characteristics of Multi-Layered Circular Plates and Single Layered Hemispherical Shells”.

Thanks to all who nominated papers or projects for these awards. The awards for Best Postgraduate Paper and Best Undergraduate Project were selected by panels drawn from the MSSI Executive Committee. The winner of the thesis in three competition was Cian McKeown, Department of Physics and Energy, Cian is supervised by Dr Fernando Rhen.

Dr David Tanner, Cian Dillon, Prof. Michael Pomeroy and Noel O'Dowd













MSSI Conference Castletroy Park












Dr Claudia Coughlan











Anushree Dwivedi, Michele Corrigan, Beatrice Malacrida and Gillian Johnson