Search icon

Women in Mathematics Day Ireland 2018

The Women in Mathematics Day Ireland 2018 is a multi-faceted event that includes plenary talks, academic and industrial research talks, a student poster session, panel sessions on gender equity, and the centrepiece of this year’s event is the celebration of Sheila Tinney (1918-2010). Sheila was the first Irish woman to receive a PhD in Mathematics, a former lecturer of Theoretical Physics in UCD and one of the first four women to be admitted to the Royal Irish Academy.

The aim of the conference is to advance gender equity in the mathematical sciences in Ireland, while also being a forum to encourage, support, and inspire women at all stages of their education and careers. Talks and poster presentations will be given by women and men from both academia and industry. 

Invitation to attend the Women in Mathematics Day in Ireland 2018 is extended to all who might be interested in finding out more about mathematics. From the general public to industry, from post-primary students to undergraduates, from PhD students to professors, registration is free and open to all. 

Conference website:

Registration: This event is free to attend but registration is mandatory as there is a finite capacity. Please register with the event's Eventbrite page here:

Student Poster Session: We'd like to invite post-graduate and final year undergraduate students in mathematical sciences to submit poster abstract. The deadline for abstract submission is 15th of July, 2018.

Opening Address: 

Prof. Orla Feeley (UCD Vice-President for Research, Innovation & Impact)

Conference Speakers:

Prof. Sally McClean (Professor of Mathematics, Ulster University)

Dr. Sandra Collins (PhD in Applied Mathematics and Director of the National Library)

Prof. Ailish Hannigan (Associate Professor of Biomedical Statistics at University of Limerick)

Dr. Anca Mustata (Lecturer in Mathematics at University College Cork)

Dr. Doireann O’Kiely (Postdoctoral Research Assistant at Oxford)

Dr. Romina Gaburro (Regional Co-ordinator for Ireland of the European Women in Mathematics (EWM)

Organisers: School of Mathematics and Statistics, University College Dublin

Co-Chairs: Isabella Gollini, Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin 

Committee members: Michelle Carey, Vasiliki Dimitrakopoulou, Mark Dukes, Claire Gormley, Gabrielle Kelly, Pauline Mellon, Neil O’Connell, Adamaria Perrotta, Michael Salter-Townshend, John Sheekey, Helena Smigoc

Contact information:

For news and updates follow us on Twitter @WIMDI18