Search icon






On Friday 20th October the Centre for Crime, Justice & Victim Studies (CCJVS) held its 20th Anniversary Conference, celebrating twenty years of criminal justice scholarship at the School of Law. The conference took place in the Analog Devices Building at the University of Limerick and was kindly sponsored by the School of Law, the Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences and Kiely McCarthy Solicitors. Papers presented at the conference traced developments in the Irish criminal justice system, past, present and future, and shone a spotlight on some of the innovative research specialities within the Centre such as, Offending and Desistance and Victims of Crime. The conference boasted a wonderfully diverse range of speakers, affording an exciting opportunity for the CCJVS to facilitate debate and discussion of contemporary criminal justice issues, amongst academics, practitioners, researchers and stakeholders in the field. The conference was organised by Dr. Susan Leahy (co-director of the CCJVS) and Dr. Margaret Fitzgerald O’Reilly, pictured here with Head of School Professor Shane Kilcommins.  







(left to right): Mr. Gareth Henry, Dr. Ciaran McCullagh, Prof. Mary Rogan, Ms. Ellen O’Malley Dunlop, Prof. Paul McCutcheon, Dr. Margaret Fitzgerald O’Reilly, Ms. Kate Mulkerrins, Dr. Amanda Haynes, His Hon. Mr Justice John Edwards, Mr. Fergal Black, Dr. Ger Coffey, Prof. Shane Kilcommins, Ms. Jennifer, Schweppe and Dr. Susan Leahy.



(left to right): His Hon. Judge Thomas E. O’Donnell, Ms. Ellen O’Malley Dunlop, Ms. Kate Mulkerrins and His Hon. Mr Justice John Edwards.


(left to right): Professor Paul McCutcheon, Dr. Margaret Fitzgerald O’Reilly, Dr. Susan Leahy, and Professor Shane Kilcommins.


(left to right): Ms. Jennifer Schweppe, Dr. Amanda Haynes and Assistant Commissioner Anne-Marie McMahon.



 (left to right): Dr. John Bamber and Dr. Sean Redmond


 Dr Conor Hanly (Center)