During the meeting you have some additional options for controlling the meeting.
1.1 Control who can unmute during a meeting
By default, all attendees can unmute during a meeting unless you have disabled this setting in the meeting options as show previously.
To stop attendees from unmuting their microphone, if you click on the ‘Participants’ icon and select the ellipsis button for more options you can select ‘Don’t allow attendees to unmute’. This will prevent anyone from unmuting.
Note: ‘Attendees’ does not refer to all users at the meeting. It refers to users you have specified as ‘attendees’ in the meeting options i.e. persons at the meeting who do not have ‘Presenter’ permission. Presenters can still unmute their microphone during the meeting.
1.2 Raise virtual hand
Before the meeting you can let your attendees know they can raise their hand by clicking on the ‘Raise hand’ button.
You can then allow them to speak or present by granting them extra permissions in the meeting by clicking on the participants list and selecting the user.
You can unmute the persons microphone to allow them to speak by clicking on ‘Allow to unmute’. This will allow them to speak without granting them any extra permissions to record or mute/unmute other users.
You can then mute that person when they have finished speaking.
Another option if you want to let the person present is to click on the ellipsis button next to their username and select the option to ‘Make a presenter’.
You will see a message letting you know you are about to change the permissions for an attendee.
This will also allow them to share their screen if required. You can remove this permission by repeating the above steps but instead select the option to ‘Make an Attendee’.
1.3 Turn captions on and off
Live captions can make your meeting more inclusive to participants who are deaf or hard-of-hearing, people with different levels of language proficiency, and participants in loud places by giving them another way to follow along.
Note: Teams does not save captions. Caption data is permanently deleted after the meeting is over.
To use live captions in a meeting, go to your meeting controls and select More options > Turn on live captions.